Pentwater Clean Water Plant Breaks Ground

August 15, 2012

From the left: Ed Bigelow and Al Docter (Village Utility Committee), State Senator Geoff Hansen, Dan Hoekstra (Village Council), Juanita Pierman (Village President), Marilyn Sullivan (Village Council), Jim Miller (Village Manager), Adam Wright (Chief of Staff, Rep Jon Bumstead)

On August 14, 2012, the Village of Pentwater held a groundbreaking for its new Clean Water Plant.

The welcome and project history were given by Village President, Juanita Pierman.  Project descriptions were given by Village Manager, Jim Miller.  Prein&Newhof followed up with a thank-you to the Village, for allowing us to be a part of their community, and to Todd Maclean, USDA Rural Development, for providing funding for the project, and leading us through the countless paperwork required.  We then introduced the contractors and asked them to provide a brief schedule of their work (beginning and completion dates).

The “shovel ceremony” pictures were taken of the two groups we provided earlier.  After the photos, attendees stayed around and mingled with the State legislators, RD staff, and contractors.  Refreshments were available during the whole event, which took place in the mowed lawn under the shade of an oak tree at the proposed Clean Water Plant site.


View More

Cherry Capital Airport Receives MDOT-AERO Award

Congratulations to the Northwestern Regional Airport Commission at Cherry Capital Airport (TVC) in Traverse City on its recognition as Airport of the Year by MDOT–AERO (Michigan Department of Transportation–Aeronautics) for its outstanding efforts associated with the rehabilitation and extension of Runway 10/28. Prein&Newhof’s airport team worked for 10+ years with TVC staff, the Northwestern Regional Airport Commission, […]

Learn More >

President Trump’s water infrastructure proposal shifts current funding models

By Jim Hegarty, PE The University of North Carolina’s Environmental Finance Center recently shared an article highlighting four proposed White House initiatives that could change business as usual in the water infrastructure funding world. The four concepts introduced in it are: $100 billion in incentives for projects that increase revenue streams and support economic development. A […]

Learn More >

Thomas Smith named Chair of MSFA

Congratulations to P&N Senior Project Manager Thomas A. Smith, PE, CFM who was recently named Chair of the Michigan Stormwater–Floodplain Association (MSFA). Tom has been a member of MSFA for 15 years, and has served on the Board of Directors since 2010. As Chair, he is responsible for presiding over MSFA Executive Board Meetings and the annual […]

Learn More >

P&N Professional Jonathan Nelson earns PE License

Prein&Newhof is proud to announce that Jonathan Nelson recently earned his Professional Engineer (PE) license in the State of Michigan. To earn the PE license in the State of Michigan, individuals must earn a four–year college degree, pass the Fundamentals of Engineering exam, work under a Professional Engineer for at least four years, and pass the Principles and […]

Learn More >